Sofya Gulyak, piano
May 12, 2018 - 7:45 pm

The Russian pianist Sofya Gulyak has been named ‘La Grande Dame du piano’ by La Scene. Her recital programmes are reviewed in superlatives, and her concerto performances are lauded in glowing terms by the world’s music press. She has won many top prizes in international competitions including the Sixteenth Leeds International Piano Competition in 2009 – the first woman in the history of the competition to achieve this distinction. This last launched her on a globe-trotting, stellar career.

“Sofya Gulyak is a fearless pianist, never afraid to scale the most technically demanding heights of the repertoire and equally proud to wear her heart on her sleeve.”
The Guardian

Johann Sebastian Bach-Ferruccio Busoni Chaconne
Richard Wagner-Franz Liszt Pilgrim’s chorus from “Tannheuser”
Richard Wagner-Franz Liszt Isolde’s Liebestod from “Tristan and Isolde”
Fredéric Chopin Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brilliante
César Franck Prelude, Fugue and Variation
Alfredo Casella Variations sur une Chaconne
Maurice Ravel La Valse